Who Needs Pennies? Why Rounding Up is in Your Future.

Holiday shopping this year has been incredibly socially-rewarding for me, let me tell you why.

Over the past few weeks I’ve visited and spent money in over three stores operated by non-profits. It is terrific to see social enterprise begin to take off even in small communities.

But only one of the non-profits, the biggest one (biggest as defined by budget and number of years established) asked if I wanted to “round-up” my purchase. And they did so with such enthusiasm — “that will be $45.23, would you like to round-up to $46.00 and provide a donation to our non-profit organization?”. Why yes! How come I hadn’t thought of that first?  Plus, I hate change. We’re talking .73 cents here — heck, had they asked I would have rounded up to $50.00 given all the holiday cheer filling the air and my pocketbook.

The other two did not. When I asked them if they had ever considered doing so they both responded, a bit aghast, that they couldn’t imagine pulling it off. After all, “we already do enough begging” one said, and the other just didn’t think their staff would be comfortable making that kind of “imposition” on someone who was already making a purchase. So unfortunate for these otherwise fabulous organizations – being limited by their own misperceptions – especially as our large for-profit retailers have begun to do it all the time.

As a sector we are changing the landscape of so many things, including commerce. By going just a small step further, and encouraging our patrons to give what they don’t want anyway (clunky loose change) we can communicate essential yet subtle fundraising messages, multiple times a day to multiple people. Key messages such as  a) yes, we are a non-profit (and a local one if that’s the case) and b) we can successfully operate a business and a mission giving our clients employment or programs recognition and broader purpose and c) we need and welcome your charitable support.

Time to get uncomfortable and start asking for what people are really willing to support (and unload)!

2 Comments

Filed under Philanthropy

2 responses to “Who Needs Pennies? Why Rounding Up is in Your Future.

  1. Fantastic idea! Is this viable only with a cash transaction and not credit card? it’s easy to place change in a jar, not so easy to separate (if that is needed) the change when the purchase is electronic. Also staff could ask “do you need any (fill in the blank) to take home with you today?”

    • Hi Bob … all of my purchases were done with a credit card! They asked me to “round-up” before they processed my charge so it seems to me it might be similar to adding a tip to a final bill?

Leave a comment